Reviews of Anne's White Columns Kro Expedia (2023)

Reviews of Anne's White Columns Kro Expedia (1)

Check availability

Reviews of Anne's White Columns Inn

4 out of 5

Anne's White Columns Inn

57 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME

8.8

Excellent

All reviews shown are from real guest experiences. Only travelers who have booked a stay with us can write a review. We review reviews according to our policies and post all reviews, whether positive or negative.More information Opens in a new window

Rating 10 - Excellent. 37 out of 58 reviews" "

10 - Excellent

37

" "10 - Excellent 64%

Rating 8 - Good. 12 from 58 reviews" "

8 - Gut

12

" "8 - Intestine 21%

Rating 6 ā€“ Okay. 6 out of 58 reviews" "

6 - Okay

6

" "6 - Okay 10 %

Rating 4 - Poor. 2 of 58 reviews" "

4 - Bad

2

" "4 - Bad 3%

Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 of 58 reviews" "

2 - Terrible

1

" "2 - Terrible 2%

9,0/10

purity

9,0/10

Personal service

7,7/10

interior design

8,3/10

Property conditions and facilities

8,5/10

environmental friendliness

reviews

10/10 excellent

Stephen, Middleton

Traveled with partner

28. august 2022

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service

The property is older and needs updating. At breakfast I spoke to the owner (Bob) who was a very nice guy and had renovations planned for this off season. Breakfast was included and it was amazing!!!

Stayed here for 2 nights in August 2022

10/10 excellent

David

11. august 2022

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2022

10/10 excellent

Christina

10. august 2022

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and facilities

Stayed here for 2 nights in August 2022

8/10 Gut

David

3. august 2022

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2022

10/10 excellent

Kelly

July 25, 2022

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Beautiful homes within walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. Would highly recommend.

Reviews of Anne's White Columns Kro Expedia (2)

Reviews of Anne's White Columns Kro Expedia (3)

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2022

Answered by Bob on July 27, 2022

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the White Columns Inn. We hope you had a great time in Acadia and look forward to seeing you again in the future

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

July 23, 2022

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Fantastic stay

This inn was wonderful. A bit dated but that adds to the charm. Only a few minutes walk from the village. The landlord was extremely friendly and helpful and gave us tips for the area. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Reviews of Anne's White Columns Kro Expedia (4)

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2022

8/10 Gut

Sophie

26. June 2022

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2022

Answer from Bob on June 29, 2022

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Anne's White Columns Inn and your visit to Acadia National Park.

6/10 Okay

Margaret

15. June 2022

We got the wrong time for breakfast and Bob was condescending when he told us we were early, he was not warm and friendly. Colonel was wonderful! Linette gave us wrong information about many things. We would not stay there again.

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2022

Answer from Bob on June 15, 2022

The guests were properly informed by Lynette. The guests were told that the coffee would be ready at 7.00 (which it is) and that breakfast would start at 8:00 a.m. The guests were already seated at breakfast when the staff arrived. I am sorry that the guests felt that I was not warm and friendly while the accommodation was being prepared for breakfast. It is a very busy time for us as we prepare breakfast and start the day for the staff at all three of our bed and breakfasts. Personally, I rotate between all three of our B&Bs before breakfast to make sure everything is set up. Fortunately, breakfast was ready at 7, and Kernal was able to serve our guests while I traveled between accommodations. Acadia National Park is one of the most desirable national parks in America. Our staff have a wealth of information at their disposal as they are all on site. We are right in town so you can walk to everything. We look forward to meeting all our guests, old friends and new friends.

10/10 excellent

Rodney

30. maj 2022

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2022

10/10 excellent

SHANNON

Traveled with family

5. november 2021

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Charming stay, great location

Fantastic stay. Wonderful location - walking distance to town, restaurants, shops, etc. Very nice host.

I stayed here for one night in October 2021

10/10 excellent

Michael

Traveled with partner

18. Oct. 2021

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

Very nice B&B. Walking distance to town, plenty of parking and a delicious breakfast.

Stayed here for 4 nights in October 2021

10/10 excellent

Tammy

Traveled with partner

30. september 2021

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and facilities

I loved how cute everything was! The breakfast was fancy and delicious! We enjoyed our conversations with the owner and the history of the house. They did a great job with this converted church! We would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed here for 4 nights in September 2021

Answer from Bob on October 6, 2021

We loved meeting you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again

6/10 Okay

Verified traveler

Traveled with partner

21. august 2021

Likes: staff and service, facilities

Excellent location, walking distance to all of Bar Harbor's great shops and restaurants. Delicious breakfast. Friendly staff. The inn has charm and quirky, dated decor. However, it needs some updates and a deep cleaning. The bed was not comfortable and the mattress needs to be replaced. The carpet was in a pretty sad state.

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2021

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

Traveled with partner

19. august 2021

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

fee!!!!

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2021

Answer from Bob on October 6, 2021

Thank you. Come back

8/10 Gut

Verified traveler

Traveled with family

July 26, 2021

Dissatisfied: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and facilities

Bar Harbor was amazing. Ann's white bars are not so good. Air con didn't work, TV was a joke, breakfast wasn't worth wasting your time on (frozen food ended up in the microwave). The management did not care about their guests at all. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2021

Answer from Bob on July 27, 2021

1. The days during the guest stay were in the 60s. The nights were in the 50s. When I was offered a new air conditioner, it was declined. 2. We employ three professional chefs to prepare our daily breakfast. NOTHING IS FROZEN OR PRE-PROCESSED. We start with a course of fresh fruit, followed by a bread course (either muffins or bread baked each morning, followed by the main course. This can be either quiche, French toast or a traditional country breakfast or eggs with bacon or sausage. We can also accommodate . Dietary requirements including gluten free, dairy free or vegan Guest was never satisfied with breakfast. We rate as one of the best breakfasts on the island. 3. TV is great for watching news or weather. I would recommend it for watching ball games. We have hotel room size TVs (42"). There are several sports bars in the city. We have asked daily how we can help our guests. We hope the guest can find one of these in the future. There are many hotels in Bar Harbor that meets this need.

4/10 Bad

Verified traveler

Business travelers, traveling with partner

July 25, 2021

Dissatisfied: cleanliness, staff and service

Pros: It was convenient to get to the center. The owner was friendly. Cons: The room could have used a thorough deep cleaning, including the carpet and bedding. On our second day no one came in to change the towels, make the bed etc. The place was filled with a collection of very creepy dolls. The breakfast was mediocre.

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2021

Answer from Bob on July 27, 2021

According to the governor's order, we are not allowed to enter the rooms after the guests have entered the rooms. Occasionally a guest spills coffee on the carpet, which takes at least two days to schedule a cleaning. All linens are professionally cleaned by professional laundry after each guest's departure. Towels and daily cleaning are available on request. This is a Victorian B&B with many antiques and priceless antiques and paintings that guests cannot get in a hotel. Our breakfast is prepared by professional chefs. We offer a fruit aisle, freshly baked goods and several entrees to meet guests' needs. We can always offer a country style breakfast with eggs and bacon if desired. On previous request we can do anything.

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

Traveled with family

22. June 2021

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

It was a unique vintage property! And it was extremely well located for walking around the town of Bar Harbor!

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2021

Answer from Bob on July 27, 2021

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again

8/10 Gut

Graz

Traveled with family

26. maj 2021

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2021

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

23. Oct. 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

I stayed here for three nights in October 2020

8/10 Gut

Piotr, New York

Traveled with partner

23. Oct. 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

Cozy place, nicely located, well maintained. Disappointing breakfast.

I stayed here for three nights in October 2020

10/10 excellent

Emilie

14. Oct. 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Great place to stay in Bar Harbor!

We had a great time at the White Columns Inn. Bob was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious. We found the hotel itself in good condition and in a quiet location. We hardly heard any noise from other guests. I highly recommend this accommodation!

I stayed here for two nights in October 2020

10/10 excellent

Alex

29. september 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and facilities

I stayed here for 4 nights in July 2020

Answer from Bob on October 1, 2020

Alex, it was a pleasure meeting you. I'm glad you had such a good time at Acadia National Park. I hope you spread the word about Acadia. I look forward to seeing you in the future.

10/10 excellent

Eric, New York, NY

Business travelers, traveling with partner

19. august 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

Just beautiful! Also to tell you how good they were...we left an item of clothing at the inn and Robert arranged for the clothing to be picked up at our next location in Bar Harbor (we had to change hotels at the last minute to check out availability to check , otherwise we had to...(I would have stayed with Anne the whole time) But Robert's help was the best...we will never forget that kindness!

I stayed here for one night in August 2020

Answer from Bob on August 19, 2020

It was great to meet you and share experiences. I'm happy to help with the clothes. All Bar Harbor accommodations are locally owned and we work together to provide our guests with the best possible experience while staying in Bar Harbor. hope to see you again All the best.

10/10 excellent

Patricia

1. august 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Cosy, picturesque and practical!

This is a beautiful older inn that is very well maintained. 2 blocks from Main Street and almost at the entrance to Acadia National Park, so worth the bikes and hikes! Our room, the Keewaydin, had a lovely spacious private veranda off our room. Great breakfast and Bob the owner plays the piano on site, we stopped to check it out which was great! The facility is also beautiful!

Reviews of Anne's White Columns Kro Expedia (5)

Reviews of Anne's White Columns Kro Expedia (6)

I stayed here for two nights in July 2020

Answer from Bob on August 6, 2020

I'm glad you had such a good time.

6/10 Okay

Hannah

July 29, 2020

Likes: Room comfort

Dissatisfied: cleanliness, staff and service

I stayed here for one night in July 2020

10/10 excellent

Judith

Traveled with a group

July 27, 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

I stayed here for one night in July 2020

10/10 excellent

Kathryn

July 18, 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Very nice place with a great location. The breakfast was delicious! Would definitely stay here againšŸ˜

I stayed here for one night in July 2020

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

July 8, 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

I stayed here for one night in July 2020

8/10 Gut

David

July 6, 2020

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Friendly bed and breakfast

Our stay at White Columns BnB was excellent! Colin, the host who checked us in, was very knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. He recommended relevant restaurants and pubs and even told us some history while showing us to our room. Our room did not have a thermostat that we could control and it got quite stuffy/hot at night. The bed was also firmer than I prefer. Overall though, the accommodation was comfortable. I would definitely stay here again for the great location and friendly service!

I stayed here for two nights in July 2020

6/10 Okay

Verified traveler

Traveled with partner

July 5, 2020

Likes: cleanliness

Dissatisfied: The property's equipment, condition and equipment

The Inn did not seem good value for the price. The rooms are small and there is a small common area. TVs are old and there are no nice touches like in-room fridges and bathrobes. We wish we had stayed somewhere else. The breakfast was good and seemed to put a lot of effort into it, although we only had it once during our stay.

I stayed here for three nights in July 2020

10/10 excellent

Curt B.

18. november 2019

Wonderful B&B in Bar Harbor

We really enjoyed the architecture and history of this Bar Harbor B&B. Check in was smooth and the room was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and we left refreshed and rested.

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

27. Oct. 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

It was excellent. Colin and Bob are great hosts. The location is perfect.

I stayed here for one night in October 2019

Answered by Bob on October 28, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bar Harbor at Anne's White Columns Inn. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

8/10 Gut

Verified traveler

Traveled with family

24. Oct. 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

Very close to town. 5 minute walk to the pier, shopping and restaurants.

I stayed here for two nights in October 2019

Answered by Bob on October 28, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bar Harbor at Anne's White Columns Inn. You are right about our location and ample off street parking. Once you've checked in at the inn, there's no need to drive. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

2/10 Terrible

Verified traveler

Traveled with family

20. Oct. 2019

Dissatisfied: The property's equipment, condition and equipment

It had to be deleted. The rayon peeled off. The wallpaper in the room was peeling off. Not worth $275.00 per night

I stayed here for three nights in October 2019

8/10 Gut

Verified traveler

Traveled with partner

11. Oct. 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service

Cullen, Andy and Bob were all very helpful and attentive. The facility was very clean and the gardens were very beautiful. The room was very clean but dated. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were old and flat. As a light sleeper, it was difficult to sleep through the thin walls when people in the next room coughed or turned on the water.

Stayed here for 4 nights in October 2019

6/10 Okay

Verified traveler

29. september 2019

Dissatisfied: The accommodation's cleanliness, condition and facilities

Andy - housekeeping and server were very accommodating. Our room - Birch was very small and shabby! the carpet dirty.

Stayed here for 5 nights in September 2019

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

26. september 2019

I stayed here for two nights in September 2019

8/10 Gut

Verified traveler

11. september 2019

I stayed here for 6 nights in September 2019

10/10 excellent

George

Traveled with family

9. september 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

We enjoyed our stay. Good location, walking distance to Main Street and restaurants.

I stayed here for two nights in September 2019

10/10 excellent

Leanne

25. august 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Beautiful B&B in the heart of Bar Harbor

Quaint, clean B&B within walking distance to Bar Harbor shops, restaurants, etc. Acadia Park has shuttles that run around town. Perfect place! After buying the weekly park pass we only used the shuttle service. I will definitely stay here again!

I stayed here for two nights in August 2019

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

Traveled with family

16. august 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and facilities

Great B&B...easy walking distance to shops and great restaurants. Highly recommended.

I stayed here for three nights in August 2019

10/10 excellent

Allison

14. august 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

I stayed here for two nights in August 2019

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

Traveled with partner

8. august 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

Extremely helpful staff and great location. Tasty and filling breakfast. We were surprised at how much food. Super cute and quaint B&B! Would stay there again.

I stayed here for three nights in August 2019

Answer from Bob on August 8, 2019

Thank you for your kind words. Our breakfast is prepared each morning to provide our guests with a delicious and filling meal to start their day in Acadia National Park. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

Traveled with partner

July 29, 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, amenities, property condition and facilities

Great location and easy walking distance to shops and recreation. Just far enough away from the crowds. Fantastic staff. Wonderful breakfast every morning.

I stayed here for two nights in July 2019

Answer from Bob on August 8, 2019

The White Columns Inn is located two blocks from the hustle and bustle of Main Street. Close enough to walk but in a quiet location. We serve a seven day rotating menu for breakfast to provide a delicious and varied menu.

6/10 Okay

Nancy, Falls Church

July 27, 2019

Dissatisfied: Room comfort

Also known as the hobbit room

The location of this property is fantastic. Make the city easy to walk to. The planting around the building is simply lush and well maintained. Other than that, I can't say I was impressed. I booked a "Standard" room as it was available at the time of my booking. I never expected the innkeeper's definition of standard to be a room that would be cramped for a single, let alone a double. I estimate the size to be about 100 sf plus bath. Are all standard rooms this big? The other Band B models we used on this trip were more appropriate in terms of description and price. Finally, I feel that the owner's interest in the extensive Bar Harbor B&B portfolio generally outweighs the personal touch. Amenities were routine and low quality. In conclusion, I would advise anyone looking to book Birch Rook to consider another alternative.

I stayed here for two nights in July 2019

10/10 excellent

Katrina, Baltimore

July 21, 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

I stayed here for three nights in July 2019

Answer from Bob on August 8, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bar Harbor. We look forward to the future.

10/10 excellent

Verified traveler

July 17, 2019

I stayed here for one night in July 2019

10/10 excellent

Claudia

July 14, 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

Fantastic inn.

Great location right in the city. Restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. Bob was very accommodating and even served us mimosas during the 4th of July parade.

I stayed here for two nights in July 2019

Answer from Bob on August 8, 2019

Nothing beats the 4th of July in Bar Harbor. Glad you had a good time. I look forward to seeing you again.

10/10 excellent

Joshua

30. June 2019

Likes: Cleanliness, staff and service, property condition and amenities, room comfort

I stayed here for two nights in June 2019

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Francesca Jacobs Ret

Last Updated: 29/10/2023

Views: 6256

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Francesca Jacobs Ret

Birthday: 1996-12-09

Address: Apt. 141 1406 Mitch Summit, New Teganshire, UT 82655-0699

Phone: +2296092334654

Job: Technology Architect

Hobby: Snowboarding, Scouting, Foreign language learning, Dowsing, Baton twirling, Sculpting, Cabaret

Introduction: My name is Francesca Jacobs Ret, I am a innocent, super, beautiful, charming, lucky, gentle, clever person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.